I a traditional gym, such as hill walking and

am applying for this particular course because over the past few
years I have developed an interest in promoting and enabling exercise
and health, particularly among the older population. I feel that this
course will be a good way of gaining knowledge, both theoretical and
practical to have a base from which I can further progress.
Previously I had enrolled on a personal training course through YMCA
fit, but this had to be cancelled through lack of numbers.

very much believe that movement, whether it is traditional exercises
in a gym or other activities outside of a gym can help people in more
ways than just the physical side of health. I also understand that
nutrition plays a large part in an individuals overall wellbeing, so
would like to learn more about this aspect and how it can effect
performance and everyday living.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

the only qualification that directly relates to this course is my PE
GCSE I feel that my other experiences since leaving school have
pushed me in this direction of interest. When working in the pharmacy
I came across many older people with mobility issues and the less
they moved, the less and less mobile they got. I also saw many
people, particularly older people, on many different medications and
there is some evidence suggesting that some medication could be
reduced or stopped with lifestyle changes, such as exercise and diet.

and working for a very short time in domiciliary care has also
informed my decision to pursue this line of study. Taking this job in
the first place was a mistake, however what I have gained from it is
the confirmation that I would rather support the older population by
encouraging and motivating them to stay active and independent as
long as possible, as opposed to the sort of care the company
provided. Through both this and work at the pharmacy I have also
gained experience in dealing with different people, sometimes in
difficult situations.

my own training I much prefer bodyweight exercises and activity
outside of a traditional gym, such as hill walking and running. I
also currently go to a gym in which the focus is getting a balance of
strength, mobility and flexibility through gymnastics, bodyweight
based movements, such as the handstand. In the past I have also done
a lot of HIIT training.

a traditional gym setting is not my personal preferred training
setting, I understand this can provide a good base from which people
can progress onto other activities if they wish. By doing this course
I hope to gain more knowledge of gym based exercises and their
various benefits when done with good form.

from exercise and health my other interests are reading, cooking,
snowboarding and seeing friends. I enjoy reading a variety of books,
including both fiction and non fiction. In 2013 I completed a full
time, 9 month course in furniture making at Peter Sefton Furniture
School, where I produced several pieces, including a larger cabinet
towards the end. Although I enjoyed this very much, I decided that it
was not what I wanted to do for a career. I also am currently
partaking in some short courses on the FutureLearn website. These
include Bookkeeping and Preparing for University, among others that I
have put my name down for for future dates.