11/##/2007: in using the observatory must first submit a

11/##/2007: The
Arecibo Observatory


We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

The Arecibo Observatory, situated in Arecibo, Puerto Rico is
a massive radio telescope managed by several national research institutions.

Initially constructed in 1963, the telescope stands at 1,000 feet. Up until
2016, the scope held the record as the largest single-aperture telescope in the
world. Scientists conduct three types of research; radar astronomy, atmospheric
science, and radio astronomy. Researchers interested in using the observatory
must first submit a proposal. An independent scientific board then evaluates
the proposition. The observatory also plays a role in media culture, appearing
in video games, films, and television productions. Several important scientific
findings have been made using the facilities. In 1964 a scientist by the name
of Gordon Pettengill and his team discovered that the time required for Mercy
to complete a full rotation was 88 days, not 59. Researchers also recorded the
first image ever of an asteroid in 1989.


11/##/2007: Puerto


Situated in the northeast of the Caribbean Sea is the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. The name translates to “rich port.” A
separate entity from the United States, the territory is made up of multiple
islands; these include the mainland of Puerto Rico and the smaller islands of
Culebra, Vieques, and Mona. Altogether, the total population is roughly 3.4
million, with the capital of San Juan being the most populated city. English
and Spanish are the main languages. According to American law, the government
recognizes individuals born in Puerto Rico as citizens of the United States.

Residents can freely travel between islands. During Christopher Columbus’
second voyage in 1493, he discovered the islands. Formerly inhabited by people
of indigenous Taino tribe, Columbus claimed the lands for himself. Throughout
history, Puerto Rico has undergone numerous invasion attempts by the Dutch,
British, and French.


11/##/2007: The
Ecosystems of Puerto Rico


Puerto Rico is home to numerous flora and fauna species. The
tropical environment and climate have led to the formation of multiple
ecosystems; including terrestrial and aquatic. The resulting biodiversity
supports many species that are endemic to the area. The sheer number of plant
and animal species makes the territory a hot spot for biologists. A significant
portion of terrestrial mammals inhabiting the islands are not native to Puerto
Rico. Human interactions have introduced species such as goats monkeys and cats
to the area. A total of 349 species of bird reside on the islands, with humans
introducing nearly half of all species. Warm temperatures, fertile soils, and
abundance of water provides the ideal conditions to support over 1,000 flora
species. Many plant species are exclusive to the area, as a result of
adaptation to the high humidity levels.




11/##/2007: Old
San Juan


Established in 1509, Old San Juan sits as Puerto Ricos
oldest settlement and holds great historical significance. Three bridges
connect Old San Juan to the mainland; Puente San Antonio, Puente Dos Hermanos,
and Puente G. Esteves. The city lies on a small island located along the north
coast. The settlement consists of seven square blocks. To the west is the
oldest section, with the northern division comprised primarily of residential
areas. The commercial district lies in the southern region. In 1966 the city
was listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Many buildings
constructed in the 16th and 17th century remain intact. A Spanish explorer,
Juan Ponce de Leon founded the initial settlement in 1508. Formerly known as
Caparra, the origin of the name came from the Province of Caceres, Spain. In
1509 the original establishment was moved to a new location, known as
“Puerto Rico.” The formal name “San Juan Bautista de Puerto
Rico” was changed again in 1521.


#/##/2007: Liberia


Located on the West coast of Africa is the Republic of
Liberia. The country spans a total of 43,000 square miles with a total
population of approximately 4.5 million people. The majority of the demographic
is made up of 16 officially recognized ethnic groups. This variation in
ethnicities has resulted in more than 20 different languages spoken. English
remains the official language. Before being established as a country, the area
was formerly a settlement of the American Colonization Society. The group
believed people of African descent would face difficulties in America and would
have an easier time establishing freedom in Africa. Despite declaring
independence in 1847, the United States failed to recognize the country’s
sovereignty until the American Civil War in 1862. The country consists of
fifteen counties, further subdivided into 90 districts. The counties of
Montserrado and Grand Bassa are the oldest, founded in 1839.